I find myself again being drawn to the topic of surrender. I know that when there is a fight that the loser surrenders to the victor but I`m looking at truly surrendering a life, mine in particular to God for His purpose. I find that many times as a Christian I am looking for something out there that I can`t seem to find nor even know what it is I`m looking for. I know I want more of God and more relationship and more or a real sense of trust of Him in the now days of my life. That being said there will be many people who know exactly what I should be doing and the instructions will be vastly different. God has many children but He handles each one of us on a personal level. I know I have been one of those people who want to tell you just what the steps are to be fixed but most of us don`t really want to be fixed but really want to be heard until we get it all out of our system and then we are more ready to receive. It makes me think of poor Job and in his time of need his friends are speaking great wisdom to him and they were wrong and they were accusing. I guess that is the trouble when we think we now know something. It tends to erode our humility and the fact that we are all but mere men. When we speak as an authority on God and often on His behalf without His permission we really are living in a reckless manner. I`m not really speaking to “those guys” but to this guy as I will be the one answering for what I do and I really instead, want to be one who lifts up and encourages and not one who judges and tears down.

Now back to the topic of surrendering to God. So God has a plan for my life just as He has one for all of you. Now I, like most of you would say I would embrace the life that God would have for me as He is good. Now when it comes to actually doing the surrendering I fall far short. This is where the problems come to the surface for me. He ( God )seems to be a details person where I am not. My life seems to made up of many, many thought process’s and personal truth’s that I live by and the people I want around me should also have similar ones. So now The Holy Spirit is within me hovering over those places that need to conform to the will of God as opposed to the will of Norm. The funny thing is when I say yes to what He wants to do I often begin to fight Him on it as I don’t like His methods. You see I have a picture going on in my mind of just how things should go and often God has a very different picture than I do. In fact it is so different that I am sure it isn’t Him, isn’t good and sure isn’t right. I’m sure I’m the only one who’s ever done this which is why the Holy Spirit is so confounded on how to proceed. I’m joking. J.

I am seeing how trust goes hand and hand with my ability to surrender. Even though in theory I absolutely trust Him, love Him, honor Him when it comes to practise it reveals something far less. As I am here on vacation with my grandchildren I notice that they do many things in ignorance that their parents need to train them in. If we see one of the little ones holding something sharp we take it from them but often not without them first putting up a fight. We are protecting them and giving good instruction but they don’t see it that way but that we are just being mean by taking something away from them. I can’t help but think I am acting in a similar way when He sees ( and He sees all ) that it’s time to remove something that is causing harm to me or someone around me I fuss and put up a fight to hold on to it as well. Why does my brain not send the message that this is a gift, birthed out of love and that I am being transformed into the image of Christ. I guess this is where Paul would be right when he says “ Be transformed by the renewing of your mind”

I am starting to see things like this. God brings me into various situations that the present method I use to deal with the situation fails. Not many of us really like failure. Failure is often the vehicle that opens our mind up to new ideas, ideas that He is willing to pass on to us. Ideas that have a proven track record. I find if I am in a process that He has orchestrated I am teachable and more obedient to His direction because I am not battling with the ideas of my own that I am sure are right. Like a wonderful woman of God said ( Heidi Baker ) “ God reached in and removed all of her NO’s and she only can say YES to God now.” Her desire is now for Him now instead of the self creature that lives in us. It’s the self creature within that is saying NO GOD I WILL DO IT MY WAY.

Back in the day there were people who were forced into being a servant because of debt. After they had worked off the debt some would actually choose to be a bond servant because they found that their life was better in their master’s care. That happened by spending lots of time in the presence of the master and a respect for him developed and even more…. TRUST.  I can’t even imagine surrendering myself to another human but it happened. How much more should we be able to develop that love trust and respect for our heavenly Dad by simple spending our time in His presence? Paying attention to Him working in my life and the lives of those around me. Perhaps this is the key for me. Like Brother Lawrence simply “Practice The Presence Of The Lord”  I believe this is the best course of action for me. I know doing this I can’t go wrong.

So what so I see this looking like in my mind. I see it similarly as a country surrendering itself over to its adversary. No longer will their flag be flying signifying their independence but the flag of the one surrendered to will be flying instead. They will no longer be known as an independent nation but will lose it’s former identity to the identity of it’s conqueror. There will be a new government, laws, and a new mindset altogether. There will be a steady diet of change until the old way of thinking passes and the new has taken hold. In a good situation the new will be embraced as a better way and the desire to be independent would go.

This independence from God that began to infiltrate us at the fall and now just is rampant in the human race is a sickness that needs to be cured. Right now I am desiring that independence be cured in me. Cured in every aspect of my life and the many relationships I have with friends, family, children and even my spouse. How can the two become one with a spirit of independence in my heart? It’s that very thing that creates such division in our world today. Divorce, family division, church splits, and many other battles lost as a result of not submitting one to another or loving each other but choosing to stay within the walls of their own design. Anyway that is another topic for another day.

 

