Well it seems that life has been busy lately as I’m sure it has been for many of us. Summer time is the time where family’s gather together from far and near. It is the chance to catch up on what is happening in the lives of loved ones and hopefully deepening the relationships. It brings to mind a word that I hear so tossed around so much of late and that word is Intimacy. You would think that we had this intimacy mastered, but do we? There are a number of definitions for the word that describes a type of relationship with someone close. I found this one that I very much like. Intimacy is closeness with another person, like the intimacy that develops between friends as you tell one another your life’s story and all your secrets and dreams for the future. In spiritual circles you hear lots about intimacy with our Father God, Jesus and the Holy Spirit. Now for me I don’t believe that I have personally taken this type of relationship with God too serious. Perhaps I have even been a bit flip. This isn’t like feelings of love that can be me having those feelings for another who does not feel the same towards me. This is real and has been forged between two persons through investing time with each other. Trust is something that paves the way for intimacy to happen. Much like a marriage there must be trust between the two for you to have real intimacy. Trust replaces the need to have walls erected around your heart and that enables the other person to truly know you as you are. You willingly make yourself vulnerable to that other person. We all desire to be loved and particularly loved for the real you and not the you, that was created to make you desirable to another. I guess that is a topic for another day. So I can say that I have many friendships in my life but I have far less relationships that I could say we have intimacy. Even in the relationships that I do have intimacy there are levels of depth that differ between. Obviously I have only one relationship that is intimately in the physical sense but who have I made myself most vulnerable too? Well the right person to have that depth is with God. I believe that as I willingly reveal my heart to Him that He in turn will also reveal more of His heart to me. This is where you can ask yourself: When was the last time you made yourself vulnerable to God? When was the last time He revealed His heart to you? Do you even care to know what is in His heart?             My honest answer to the above first two questions are “ I don’t remember.” I know that last question I haven’t even asked for a long time but know before I answer that I must carefully consider this one. So the answer to the questions leave my level of intimacy at best to be shallow. I guess this is one of the things I like blogging with the Spirit Of God along side of me. I never know where He is leading me but I do trust Him. So now that this is revealed it really shows how my prayers are also off track. I have been in the deeper places and have returned to the shallow with God. What would that look like in a marriage? Well I would say that the trust between us would have also diminished and that walls would around our heart towards each other would be the natural flow of things. Would not our spouse not feel the retreat and feel the abandonment? Would they not sense if you were now wooing another in your life rather then you? And would it also not cause them pain? So would not God also sense the departure of your heart from Him and would it also not grieve Him? As you cab see I am a man with more questions then answers. I am also a man who has grieved the heart of God, Him being the very one who has promised never to leave me or forsake me. I read this scripture in Amos 3 this morning which started the ball rolling. Verse 1 “Listen to this message that the Lord has spoken against you, O people of Israel—against the entire family I rescued from Egypt: 2 “From among all the families on the earth, I have been intimate with you alone. That is why I must punish you for all your sins.”             In the 4th chapter of Amos it describes some of the things that the Lord “punished” them with and then this same response from God. “But still you would not return to me” Like the story of the Prodigal son there is a Father who’s heart is broken until the son returns back to Him, and that my friends is what I find myself……… Just Thinking

