I WILL FOLLOW YOU

Things are changing very quickly in our world today. Technology and the Internet have put our world into high gear. Many career paths require you to prepare for the job in high school and then University. When you choose your career, you begin to train by taking the courses you need in University. The debt for training can sure add up and then when you graduate you search and hope you can gain the entry-level position. If you are lucky enough to find your position you may soon discover that this is not what you want to do in life. The question then is, “how can I leave this job with 60000 + dollars of debt needing to be paid?” The essence of who you are as a person becomes less and less a factor in how you will spend the bulk of your time on this earth. Many of our youth are burning out before they finish University as they are trying to shape themselves into something they are not.

Perhaps you are one of the ones who end up with a career that you are happy with. With hard work and dedication you climb your way up the corporate ladder into a high level management position. You are well respected in the workplace and have one of the nicer offices and large numbers of staff answering to you. You have a company car and you are flying here and there in business class and it seems as though you have arrived. Meanwhile back at home the beautiful spouse of your youth ( or perhaps it is the wife who has become the success story) is having difficulty with the 3 kids, the car is acting up and pool has a leak. The baby is crying and needs a diaper change while supper is cooking. You are no longer an executive in this place nor are the family members bowing to your commands. You are now a servant to these people and they are demanding. The question is “ Who is the real you?” Are you husband/wife and parent of 3 or are you an executive that has acquired a spouse and 3 children who should be supporting you in your important role?

Life is made up by our choices that we are making everyday. Are you seeing the importance of those seemingly insignificant choices or are the choices you make designed to “ give you some space”? If you plant those seeds now you needn’t worry about them growing. In a few years you will have all the space you want. The road of success may find you in your final years sitting alone. It is a sad time to discover that your goals had been reached but you have nothing.

Perhaps you are the one who was able to adapt to the position you find yourself in and just get through the workday so you can socialize with friends after the workday has ended. It seems great for a time but your friends come and go and as you age your desires and needs begin to change. There comes a point where we all take a breath and wonder “ Where is it that I am going?” You have been in the race a while and your forget where this race was leading you too. It must have been somewhere great or you wouldn’t have entered it…. Would you? Lots of us change career paths at this point or change spouses or change where you live to get that “fresh start”. And they’re off! Yet again, on a new path that will lead to happiness this time.

So what options are there? What if you found out that God was real and that He had made himself available for you? What if all the pressures you have of making choices and decisions of life when you have no idea where those choices are going to take you could be handed over to the very one who created you with a plan and purpose and had the ability to satisfy your heart. Rather then finishing the race with a heavy heart of regret you have joy and hear the words “ Well done!” Well this God really does exist and He sent His son to open the way for you to know your Father.

Psalm 139:1-9 says “1 O Lord, you have examined my heart and know everything about me.

2 You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my thoughts even when I’m far away.You see me when I travel and when I rest at home. You know everything I do.

You know what I am going to say even before I say it, Lord.

You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head.

Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand!

7 I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence!

If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the grave,[a] you are there.

If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans,

10 even there your hand will guide me, and your strength will support me.

            If you are tired and thirsty and are not sure where it is life is leading you anymore then I encourage you to stop at the well and drink deeply. He will give you life giving water and will take the time to share with you even if others will not. You haven’t burned this bridge, regardless of how many you have burned or mistakes you have made up to this point. It’s not too late to change life and to get on the road that was prepared for you long ago. Rather then trying to figure everything out and knowing all things ( Good luck with that) just follow the one who is willing to lead you. Trust in Him to know the way and just follow. And so that is what I find myself, sitting in the mall and ……… Just Thinking

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

